Built in the early 1740s, the Hotel Tardif was first owned by the famous botanist Gabriel Moisson de Vaux. A man of arms, fond of languages, sciences and arts, he was elected president of the district of Bayeux during the Revolution. He had the good fortune to save a lot of precious objects from the devastation of vandalism, including the famous Tapestry of Queen Mathilde. His passion for the natural sciences was expressed in this park which was the first botanical garden in Normandy.
In 1802, the property was bought by the deputy Alexandre Tardif, who gave it its current name. At the head of an important lace factory, the Tardif had the privilege of making clothes for the "Eaglet", son of the Emperor Napoleon and the Empress Marie Louise of Austria. They completed the 18th century building by adding the Empire wing and its ceremonial rooms facing the park, thus closing the main courtyard.
In 1906, Master Elie Dodeman acquired the premises. Elected Mayor of Bayeux from 1929 to 1945, he made great progress for the city with the extension of the hospital and the train station. Under the occupation, he placed the Louis XV wing of the property at the disposal of the hospital, which provided treatment rooms for the wounded.
Today owned by the family Voidie-Broult, Hotel Tardif welcomes you in an exceptional historical setting.